Solution to Mumps Error

This forum is for issues related to parallel processing
and OpenSees using the new interpreters OpenSeesSP and OpenSeesMP
Post Reply
armkam
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 4:02 pm
Location: The University of Auckland

Solution to Mumps Error

Post by armkam » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:04 pm

Hi,

I have a large model and I'm using OpenSees on an HPC platform.
My analysis script consists of two phases: static and transient analyses.
Since my model is large I cannot use any system solver other than Mumps or the analysis would crash.
If I use Mumps in both phases, the transient analysis doesn't work.
What're the possible solutions to this?

Cheers,
Arman

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5860
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Solution to Mumps Error

Post by fmk » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:06 am

do the static analysis with a transient analysis .. sorry but there is some bug in Mumps related to memory when we destroy one instance and start the next.

mfernba
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:34 pm
Location: None

Re: Solution to Mumps Error

Post by mfernba » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:28 am

Which version of the Opensees source code are you using? A bug fix for that was included in release r6608. But if you have the source code updated, if seems that the problems corresponds to another thing. If interested, i can provide you with the source code i used (for the windows platform) to solve the issue, and try to work out a solution for the problem starting from it.

Post Reply