OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

This forum is for issues related to parallel processing
and OpenSees using the new interpreters OpenSeesSP and OpenSeesMP

Moderator: selimgunay

Post Reply
mkfotouhi
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:00 am
Location: Younglove Construction

OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by mkfotouhi » Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:04 am

Frank,

1-I tried to run my model using OpenSees Hub and it took 15 min and 50 sec. When I use my own computer it takes 14 min 58 sec! Since it's supposed the NEES hub be very very very faster than normal PCs Do I need to add any command to my code or do I us the NEES hub tool wrongly?
2-I have still problem downloading OpenSees interpreter for parallel analyzing! http://opensees.berkeley.edu/OpenSees/c ... .1.exe.zip

Thanks,
M.K. Fotouhi
PhD student, Iowa State University

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5866
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by fmk » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:44 pm

sorry for the delay, i have been busy working on other things.

1) are you just running a regular sequential script?
2) working on the parallel version. not quite so easy this time as the machine on which i used to build it died and the parallel
version requires an awful lot of other libraries to be compiled and linked.

mkfotouhi
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:00 am
Location: Younglove Construction

Re: OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by mkfotouhi » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:45 pm

Thanks Frank for your reply,
1) The only commands that I have in my scripts to account for the parallel analysis are as follows:

set parallel 1; # 0 -- sequential run (e.g., on PC)
# 1 -- parallel run
switch $parallel {
0 {
set solver "SparseSPD"
set outfmt "-file"
}
1 {
set solver "Mumps"
set outfmt "-xml"
}
}

2) thanks for your great job. It seems that this time it may take very long! :(
M.K. Fotouhi
PhD student, Iowa State University

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5866
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by fmk » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:47 pm

are you outputting a lot of data?

mkfotouhi
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:00 am
Location: Younglove Construction

Re: OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by mkfotouhi » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:58 pm

I don't know what's the scale but here are my recorder commands:

eval "recorder Node $outfmt NEESUndrainedTravelingTimeVerticalOnPile.dsp -time -node $SurfaceNodes $pileNodes -dof 1 2 3 disp"
eval "recorder Node $outfmt NEESUndrainedTravelingTimeVerticalOnPile.acc -time -node $SurfaceNodes $pileNodes -dof 1 2 3 accel"

The output is two files each around 3.5 MB
M.K. Fotouhi
PhD student, Iowa State University

Dori
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:13 am

Re: OpenSees Lab on NEES hub

Post by Dori » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:16 am

I seem to be having a similar issue, and suggestions? This is a bit frustrating. Thank you!

Post Reply