Shell element

If you have a script you think might be useful to others post it
here. Hopefully we will be able to get the most useful of these incorporated in the manuals.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
behzad1980
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:45 am
Location: Rice

Shell element

Post by behzad1980 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:56 pm

Hi,

I want to know whether opensees recent released version can analyze nonlinear shell elements or not.

I've already modeled a bridge deck with shell MITC4 but the program can't converge but when I change shell elements to beam column elements, It works!!!

Could u please tell me if opensees has any problem in shell analysis or I made a mistake in their modeling.

Thanks

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5866
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Post by fmk » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:07 am

if the beam-column model works stick with that.

suiwenwu
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:50 am
Location: University of Nevada, Reno,

Re: Shell element

Post by suiwenwu » Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:58 pm

Do you mean that you use shellMITC4 to run the dynamic analysis? Does it have something wrong with the mass modeling?

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5866
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Shell element

Post by fmk » Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:10 am

if, like the rest of the contiinuum elements, the materials at the gauss points have a density associated with them, the element will use them to form the mass matrix.

mohammadjjj
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Shell element

Post by mohammadjjj » Thu May 26, 2016 1:13 am

Dear Users

I want to use ShellMITC4 as a pile cap, but after defining a shell element using four Peripheral nodes, the OSP doesn't show any shell element!!, it just shows an ordinary element between two early nodes among four nodes defined as peripheral nodes!!!
In addition, what does it mean with the command mentioned "input must be in counter-clockwise order around the element"!!

sb1966
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:08 am
Location: NERIST, INDIA
Contact:

Re: Shell element

Post by sb1966 » Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:21 am

Hi,
it is reg your last question, about CCW node numbering. Assume that you have a 4 noded element whose nodes are 1 (LowerLeft), 2 (LowerRight), 3 (UpperRight) and 4(UpperLeft). Then you may write
element $eleType $eleTag 1 2 3 4
Alternatively you can also write
element $eleType $eleTag 2 3 4 1
But you can't write
element $eleType $eleTag 2 1 4 3 because now you are numbering the nodes in CW fashion.
Hope this helps.
----------------------------------
With Regards,
sb1966

hamiddehnavi
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: Tehran

Re: Shell element

Post by hamiddehnavi » Wed May 24, 2017 4:15 am

i can't get localforce response of this element...but it get me just force...can you help me?

diabetespedia
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:50 pm
Location: University of California Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Shell element

Post by diabetespedia » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:06 pm

Having same issue above.

surrendersalon
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:38 am

Re: Shell element

Post by surrendersalon » Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:40 am

Surrender Salon located in Long Beach California is a place to renew from head to toe, specializing in personalized hair, skin and wellness treatments.
https://www.surrendersalon.com/

Post Reply