units

If you have a script you think might be useful to others post it
here. Hopefully we will be able to get the most useful of these incorporated in the manuals.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

units

Post by talebian.s.e » Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:27 am

hi,
I want to know how to define units in opensees.my basic units are KN,mm,sec .
would u please tell me the exact command for my basic units?

silvia
Posts: 3912
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:18 am

please look at the units file in the examples manual.
replace the basic units with yours and modify the rest to match based on your basic units.
make sure you make a distinction with kg-mass and kg-weight in SI units, and lb-mass and lb-weight in Imperial units.
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104

talebian.s.e
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:05 am
Location: Griffith University

Post by talebian.s.e » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:53 am

Thank you.
you are really kind to all opensees users.

Post Reply