Large Node Numbers

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
edwardal
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:33 am
Location: Istituto Universitario di Studi Superiori (IUSS)

Large Node Numbers

Post by edwardal » Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:41 am

I am running some large models with large node numbers. The problem I am running into is with the "print" command. If I run the command "print model.txt" the model.txt file contains:

Node: 2.0101e+006
Coordinates : 10.8 156
...
Node: 2.0101e+006
Coordinates : 180 156
...
so there is no distinction between the two nodes (2010100 and 2010101).

Could you ensure that the node number is formatted as an integer and not in scientific notation?

I believe it's a simple change in line 1741 in Node.cpp. I'm running these models on windows so making the change myself and recompiling OpenSees is not an easy road to take. I have a workaround for my purposes, but I think this would be an easy and useful change to make for the next build.

EDIT: The same thing happens with the element tags.

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5866
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Large Node Numbers

Post by fmk » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:56 pm

it's not a simple fix .. it is in the handler classes that the fix needs to be made .. and what works for windows does not work for others.

Post Reply