Adding an Element Using MATLAB

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
salehi
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:57 am
Location: University of Colorado - Boulder

Adding an Element Using MATLAB

Post by salehi » Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:37 pm

Hello everyone,

I have developed a force-based nonlinear beam-column element in MATLAB, but I want to use OpenSees as the FE framework to use that element in 2D structural analysis. I am just wondering if it is possible to make it happen; do I have to rewrite the MATLAB code in C++ or Fortran, or I may somehow call the MATLAB function by OpenSees?

I have already tried to figure out how I may add my element to OpenSees library using C++, but after looking at the source codes of a few already-added elements, I got confused! If I have no other choice for the programming apart from C, C++, and Fortran, please let me know what is the best source to learn how I may add my element using C++. Thanks so much.

Best regards,
Mohammad
Mohammad Salehi
Graduate Research Assistant
PhD Student - Structural Engineering and Structural Mechanics
University of Colorado at Boulder

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5883
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: Adding an Element Using MATLAB

Post by fmk » Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:54 am

c or fortran might be easier .. look at the examples in OpenSees/DEVELOPER/element

myhwhelp
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:14 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Adding an Element Using MATLAB

Post by myhwhelp » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:22 pm

same I'm suggesting you to look at the examples in opensees/developer/element. Check at http://opensees.berkeley.edu/WebSVN/fil ... ementAPI.f Or in future, if you need assistance with Matlab elements, feel free to take help form https://myhomeworkhelp.com/online-matlab-homework-help/.

Post Reply