Adding Code to OpenSees

For developers writing C++, Fortran, Java, code who have questions or comments to make.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
faraklit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:38 pm
Location: Ohio State University

Adding Code to OpenSees

Post by faraklit » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:09 pm

Hi,
I am trying to add new code to OpenSees and following the procedures described in youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BaxFLF6A8Rg
However, it does not work. I don't understand, why?
Is it because the current version of OpenSees?
How can I add new code?

Thanks...

Erkan Bicici
The Ohio State University
Master Student

Sissy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:33 am

Re: Adding Code to OpenSees

Post by Sissy » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:43 am

I had the same problem.
There was a link error when compiling, which I did not have before.
LINK:fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to CoFF: file invalid or corrupt

This is my solution:
1. for the link error: I just followed some instruction online: right click the project, select property/linker, and set the "Enable incremental Linking" to NO. This helped finishing the compiling and get the .dll.
2. change all Activetcl and opensees.exe to 32 bit version. Then the .dll should work.

P.S. I still do not have any idea why there is a link error while I did not have before following the same procedure.

faraklit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:38 pm
Location: Ohio State University

Re: Adding Code to OpenSees

Post by faraklit » Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:43 pm

Thank you for your help Sissy...
32 bit version worked.

faraklit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:38 pm
Location: Ohio State University

Re: Adding Code to OpenSees

Post by faraklit » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:17 am

Hi,
Now I am trying to do same procedure in linux computer.
I can run OpenSees in linux, but I can not add new code.
I typed 'make' in DEVELOPER/element/cpp folder, the file .o and .so was created.
However, opensees is still giving same results that Truss2D is unknown.
Why does it appear?
Thanks for your help.

Erkan Bicici

faraklit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:38 pm
Location: Ohio State University

Re: Adding Code to OpenSees

Post by faraklit » Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:03 am

I got the solution.
DEVELOPER/element/cpp export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=.
the commands provides the solution.

Post Reply