convergence problem:Ex2b.Canti2D.InelasticSection.Push

For posts concerning the documentation, errors, ommissions, general comments, etc.

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Hanchai

convergence problem:Ex2b.Canti2D.InelasticSection.Push

Post by Hanchai » Sun Jun 22, 2014 12:57 am

Hi! I'm studying Opensees through example materials you provided. Studying some examples, I have some questions about the example code.

It is about example material Ex2b.Canti2D.InelasticSection.Push(http://opensees.berkeley.edu/wiki/index ... ic_Section)

In this code, there is a routine for in case of convergence problem and I attached it for convinience.
# ---------------------------------- in case of convergence problems
if {$ok != 0} {
# change some analysis parameters to achieve convergence
# performance is slower inside this loop
set ok 0;
set controlDisp 0.0; # start from zero
set D0 0.0; # start from zero
set Dstep [expr ($controlDisp-$D0)/($Dmax-$D0)]
while {$Dstep < 1.0 && $ok == 0} {
set controlDisp [nodeDisp $IDctrlNode $IDctrlDOF ]
set Dstep [expr ($controlDisp-$D0)/($Dmax-$D0)]
set ok [analyze 1 ]
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying Newton with Initial Tangent .."
test NormDispIncr $Tol 2000 0
algorithm Newton -initial
set ok [analyze 1 ]
test $TestType $Tol $maxNumIter 0
algorithm $algorithmType
}
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying Broyden .."
algorithm Broyden 8
set ok [analyze 1 ]
algorithm $algorithmType
}
if {$ok != 0} {
puts "Trying NewtonWithLineSearch .."
algorithm NewtonLineSearch .8
set ok [analyze 1 ]
algorithm $algorithmType
}
}
}; # end if ok !0
# --------------------------------------------------------------------
It is the routine to modify an analysis method in case of convergence problem. I have two questions about this routine.