2D varying soil properties

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

SebastianNunez

2D varying soil properties

Post by SebastianNunez » Thu Aug 05, 2021 8:37 pm

I want to do a model soil with varying soil properties (for example, an elastic soil with different shear wave velocity (Vs) for every element in a 2D or 3D mesh). Geotechnical examples I have seen in the wiki model soil with layers, and that means all elements in the layer will have the same Vs. Is there and efficient way to approach what I want to do? Im just learning OpenSees and what i want to do doesn't seem the easiest task.

Thanks!

csj

Re: 2D varying soil properties

Post by csj » Thu Aug 05, 2021 11:39 pm

Hi Sebastian,

It seems to me that you want to deal with soil variability by modeling soil properties as a random field.

I think that the best way to start is by the simplest case, a 1D model. For example, one may assume that Vs varies linearly with depth. You can then replicate the same steps given in the examples to model the soil as continuum, but the key is to create "several thin layers". Basically the idea is to map the Vs(z) onto the center of each layer to reproduce this linear depth dependent Vs profile.

After that, you may start to look at the 2D and finally 3D problem. If you really want to represent as RdF the soil properties, you want to learn about Gaussiand RdF and RdF generators to perform simulations in other to create plausible representations over the space of the soil properties. But that's is another story and it's not related with OpenSees or any FE framework.

Gl

SebastianNunez

Post by SebastianNunez » Fri Aug 06, 2021 5:55 am