Extract Results

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
hsakarp
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:37 am
Location: Wonkwang University

Extract Results

Post by hsakarp » Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:49 am

Hello,
I need help regarding the extraction of results from OpenSees.
How can I extract results from OpenSees and Plot it as a graph on any user interface like MS Excel, Matlab etc?

Regards.

kesavapraba
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:38 am

Re: Extract Results

Post by kesavapraba » Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:11 am

Dear Friend
You can record the desired result quantity (forces/displacements etc.,) in either. txt or .Out or . dat files using 'recorder' command. Once you have got the files, using MATLAB ' load ' and 'plot' command , you can plot whatever graphs you are interested in. You can even see an example regarding section analysis part in Opensees i

Prafullamalla
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:32 pm

Re: Extract Results

Post by Prafullamalla » Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:25 am

clear all;
load E:\OpenSees\nodedisp.out; % Opensees output file say for example nodedisp.out
load =nodedisp(:,2); % matrix name should be output file name without extension, read column 2
disp = nodedisp(:,1); % matrix name should be output file name without extension, read column 1
% Plot graph
figure(1);
plot(disp,load,'b') % Plot command
title 'Load versus Displacement curve '
legend('Model Result')
xlabel('Disp(mm)')
ylabel('Load (kN)')
Prafulla Malla, Nepal
Praf_malla@hotmail.com

hsakarp
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:37 am
Location: Wonkwang University

Re: Extract Results

Post by hsakarp » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:35 am

Hello,
Thank you kesavapraba and Prafullamalla for your reply regarding my question.
I want to ask one more thing. Can I plot the graph (ex: Displacement Vs Time) on MS Excel by reading the results from OpenSees? If so please let me know the procedure?

The recorder command I have used in my coding is as :
recorder Node -file Data/DFree.out -time -node 2 -dof 1 2 3 disp
recorder Node -file Data/DBase.out -time -node 1 -dof 1 2 3 disp
recorder Node -file Data/RBase.out -time -node 1 -dof 1 2 3 reaction
recorder Drift -file Data/Drift.out -time -iNode 1 -jNode 2 -dof 1 -perpDirn 2
recorder Element -file Data/FCol.out -time -ele 1 globalForce
recorder Element -file Data/DCol.out -time -ele 1 deformations

Thivya
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:47 pm
Location: RWTH Aachen University

Re: Extract Results

Post by Thivya » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:59 am

Yes, use Data -> From Text
Then you can use your standard stuff in Excel with the datas.

Post Reply