Parallel Computing

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

evgin

Parallel Computing

Post by evgin » Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:13 pm

Hello

I am going to parallelize the code for my 3D-8-story RC building using OpenSeesMP

There is going to be a vast number of parametric studies in which input parameters would be taken into account as Probability Distribution Function (pdf)

Besides, record-to-record uncertainty in ground motion would be considered

My question :

I am going to follow Frank’s presentation and add that 6 lines of code to make it work in parallel , but I have several thoughts going on in mind as I am new to parallel computing !

1- If I only do the analysis for a suite of ground motion and do the parametric study next, then would not it be better that I do the domain decompression in OpenSeesMP meaning that I assign various elements to different processors? or it is automatically done meaning that my model is run in multiple processors for each ground motion ? Is it automatically decomposed?

2- Using that 6 lines of code, each dynamic analysis is run in a separate processor whose ID is defined by the user using “if {[expr $count % $np] == $pid} { , but if if I wanna do domain decomposition , then should I use a similar if command to define various nodes and associated elements under specified processors?

3- Same for the parametric study in terms of monte-carlo simulations , under a suite of GMs, Can you please advise me on this a bit so as how can I parallelize these types of analysis ?

Thanks
Reza.

fmk
Site Admin

Re: Parallel Computing

Post by fmk » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:48 pm

which to use depends on how many processors you have access to and how slow is the model running sequentially .. if #cores is limited and way more MC simulations to perform than cores, don't bother trying to partition domain.

2. yes