help on confinement modeling

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
hamedpar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:36 pm
Location: amir kabir university

help on confinement modeling

Post by hamedpar » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:09 am

hi,i had a problem,because of diffrenet confinement in section of beam and column,i want to divide for example beam or column into 3 part ,2 part at end with 2h length with more confinement effect and another length (L-4h) with less confinement because of transverse Strupps.is it true or not?????

silvia
Posts: 3912
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:42 am

there is a way in the nonlinear beacolumn element to specify different sections alon the length, it should be in the manual, or in this forum
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104

hamedpar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:36 pm
Location: amir kabir university

Post by hamedpar » Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:23 pm

i can not find it.if it is possible plz write a sample!!

silvia
Posts: 3912
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:44 am
Location: Degenkolb Engineers
Contact:

Post by silvia » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:35 pm

element forceBeamColumn $eleTag $iNode $jNode $numIntgrPts -sections $secTag1 $secTag2 ... $transfTag
Silvia Mazzoni, PhD
Structural Consultant
Degenkolb Engineers
235 Montgomery Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA. 94104

Post Reply