problem with Parameter command

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, selimgunay, Moderators

Post Reply
PHPBBCXW
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:22 pm

problem with Parameter command

Post by PHPBBCXW » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:11 pm

I created a new material in OpenSees, and I wanna update one of its parameter during analysis. When I try this on a simple structure consist of just one zeroLength element like


element zeroLength 1 1 2 -mat 1 1 -dir 1 2
parameter 1 element 1 material 1 para1
......
updateParameter 1 0.01


It goes well. But when I use it in a more complex structure:


element zeroLength 41 24 23 -mat 11 11 -dir 1 2
...
element zeroLength 48 62 61 -mat 18 18 -dir 1 2
parameter 1 element 41 material 11 para1
...
parameter 8 element 48 material 18 para1

......
updateParameter 1 0.01
...
updateParameter 8 0.01

I get this:

Parameter::addComponent 1 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 11 para1
Parameter::addComponent 2 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 12 para1
Parameter::addComponent 3 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 13 para1
Parameter::addComponent 4 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 14 para1
Parameter::addComponent 5 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 15 para1
Parameter::addComponent 6 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 16 para1
Parameter::addComponent 7 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 17 para1
Parameter::addComponent 8 -- no objects were able to identify parameter
material 18 para1

Can anybody help me with this problem please?

mhscott
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:38 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon USA
Contact:

Re: problem with Parameter command

Post by mhscott » Fri Nov 26, 2021 8:32 pm

It's looking for the material number within the element, i.e., first, second, etc., not the material tag.

Post Reply