Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

This forum is for issues related to parallel processing
and OpenSees using the new interpreters OpenSeesSP and OpenSeesMP

Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby bayram_aygun » Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:07 pm

Here is what I've done:

1) I installed "MPICH2" in the default location which is "C:\Program Files\MPICH2".

2) On the tasklist in my DOS Shell I see "smpd.exe", "smss.exe". Does that mean
the spmd service is running? If I write "smpd -start" in dos shell I get the following message: "An instance of the service is already running. (error 1056)". I guess that's a good sign, right?

3) I registered using my username and my password which is also the passphrase. That's OK right?

4) Setting Up Path Variable is done. I did it for all Users (System Variables). When I write "echo %PATH%" I get the following message:

U:\>echo %PATH%
C:\ProgramFiles\Tcl\bin;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem;
c:\program files\ati technologies\ati control panel;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R200
7a\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2007a\bin\win32;C:\Program Files\SSH Communicati
ons Security\SSH Secure Shell;C:\Modeltech_6.1\win32


5) Finally, when I want to run a code via OpenSeesSP I get the following error:

U:\>mpiexec -np 2 OpenSeesSP Bayram_MSCS_WithActualandPseudoPiles_3D_fromScratch
.tcl
Aborting: unable to connect to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu, smpd version mismatch.

Do you have any idea what I might have done wrong?

Thanks,
Bayram Aygun
Graduate Student, Civil&Env. Eng.
Rice University
bayram_aygun
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 12:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby neallee » Mon Apr 28, 2008 4:16 am

Check your path enviroment setting, please.

Make sure the "X:\MPICH2\bin" is in front of the Matlab Path.

Since the Matlab also have an "mpiexec" command in their Path, which caused the "smpd version mismatch"...


Best regards,

Ning
Li Ning, PhD. Lecturer.
TJU, China
neallee
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 4:50 am
Location: Tianjin University

Postby bayram_aygun » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Hi,

I saw your reply on OpenSees forum. I thank you for that. I followed your advice
and did the following:

1) I put MPICH2 in C: folder ==> C:\MPICH2

2) MATLAB also has mpiexec.exe . I deleted Matlab's mpiexec.exe and pasted the
one I'm using for OpenSees. So I get rid of the smpd mismatch error :)

3) The next error I get is this :

C:\>mpiexec -np 2 OpenSeesSP Bridge.tcl

"Credentials for ba2 rejected connecting to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu
Aborting: Unable to connect to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu"

I checked from Control Panel-->User Accounts that I belong to Administrators
Group, so I'm puzzled. Do you have any idea what might be the problem?

Thanks for your time. I realize it's valuable.
Bayram Aygun
Graduate Student, Civil&Env. Eng.
Rice University
bayram_aygun
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 12:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby SaraMaher » Thu May 19, 2011 11:10 pm

Hi ,

I face the same problem before and was solved by this :

http://www.cnblogs.com/zealsoft/archive ... 81944.html

if you can't find the specified window and know have c IDE you can check your name with this piece of code


#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <windows.h>
using namespace std;
int main(){
char sz[256];
GetEnvironmentVariable ("USERNAME", sz, 256);
cout<<sz<<endl;
system("pause");
return 0;
}
SaraMaher
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby preciolandia » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:19 pm

I'm having trouble with the website you posted (It's in chinese!) Any website with some solution in english? Thanks a lot!
Comprar al mejor Precio de Argentina y Brasil
preciolandia
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby nicolecivil » Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:07 am

Thanks. Had solved the problem :)
nicolecivil
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby johnwise » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:36 pm

Does it matter where I install MPICH?
johnwise
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:29 pm

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby bredhedden1 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:45 pm

yes that does matter because its cover your space.
bredhedden1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby smith8890 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:58 am

If I write "smpd -start" in dos shell I get the following message: "An instance of the service is already running. (error 1056)". I guess that's a good sign, right?I am impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good resources here.
I am sure I will visit this place again soon.
Solar micro generation is one of the largest, and most exciting developments happening in the UK today. Solar is attracting the interest of news channels, hedge fund managers and home owners in equal measures.


[url=http://tvsmartreview.com/Bose Videowave Review/]Bose Videowave Review[/url]
[url=http://tvsmartreview.com/Videowave/]Videowave[/url]
smith8890
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:45 pm

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby irenebl » Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:20 am

Thanks for the advice, i was having the same issues trying to run MPICH
irenebl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:16 am

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby seowithsam » Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:35 am

Thanks for this. I really like what you've posted here and wish you the best of luck with this
seowithsam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:25 am

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby sammon » Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:33 am

I have MPICH 1.2.5 set up on serveral Windows 2000 machines, and can
successfully run jobs accross nodes, though it only seems to work
correctly if that user belongs to the Administrators group. As a
"normal" user, jobs fail with the error below.

The directory that the mes0001 file is trying to write to is open to
'Everyone' and shared that way to all of the other nodes.

I have also tried using mpiregister to add the normal user's password
to all of the nodes. It didn't make any difference, same error. Has
anyone seen this before?
sammon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:21 am

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby ocalaautoinsurance » Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:43 pm

Trying to run mpich was literally driving me mad. Thanks for the info posted here. tremendous help. Cheers.
ocalaautoinsurance
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:38 pm
Location: Ocala Florida

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Postby zaza » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:02 am

SaraMaher wrote:
> Hi ,
>
> I face the same problem before and was solved by this :
>
> http://www.cnblogs.com/zealsoft/archive ... 81944.html
>
> if you can't find the specified window and know have c IDE you can check your name
> with this piece of code
>
>
> #include <iostream>
> #include <stdio.h>
> #include <windows.h>
> using namespace std;
> int main(){
> char sz[256];
> GetEnvironmentVariable ("USERNAME", sz, 256);
> cout<<sz<<endl;
> system("pause");
> return 0;
> }

Is there an English version of the website?

I am having some trouble running MPICH in Windows and that website is in Chinese.
zaza
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:57 am



Return to Parallel Processing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest