OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

This forum is for issues related to parallel processing
and OpenSees using the new interpreters OpenSeesSP and OpenSeesMP

Moderator: selimgunay

Post Reply
Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:57 am

Hi everyone,

I have installed MPICH2, "mpich2-1.4.1p1-win-x86-64.msi", by following the steps based on the OpenSees instruction, and all checks have been passed. But when I try to run ex3.tcl or ex2.tcl by writing in command line "mpiexec -np 4 OpenSeesMP ex3.tcl" , nothing happens and it simply goes to next line without any error or output. :(

It will be really appreciated if you can give me any idea to get rid of this situation. :|

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5883
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by fmk » Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:44 am

if it is set up correctly that should work. what is in ex2 and ex3

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:41 am

Hi Frank,

Thanks for replying me. Actually, I was successful to run cpi test, 'mpiexec -n 4 cpi', after mpich2 installation and also smpd test was correct 'smpd running on $hostname$' which in this case $hostname$ is Lenovo-PC . And, ex2.tcl and ex3.tcl are the examples you have mentioned in OpenSeesMP tutorial.

I really appreciate if you could give me any other hint to try.

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:05 am

The script of ex3.tcl

set pid [getPID]
set np [getNP]

if {$pid == 0 } {
puts "\nRandom:"
for {set i 1 } {$i < $np} {incr i 1} {
recv -pid ANY msg
puts "$msg"
}
} else {
send -pid 0 "Hello from $pid"
}

#barrier

if {$pid == 0 } {
puts "Ordered:"
for {set i 1 } {$i < $np} {incr i 1} {
recv -pid $i msg
puts "$msg"
}
} else {
send -pid 0 "Hello from $pid"
}

:| !!

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5883
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by fmk » Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:34 am

try running the script with the OpenSeesMP executable (should result in np = 1) to see if the issue is with OpenSeesMP and tcl on your system

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:35 am

Thanks fmk,

I run the commands "set pid [get PID]" and "set np [get NP]" as you said and it gave me 0 and 1. So, it seems the problem is my OpenSeesMP and tcl file.
By the way, I wanted to download the tcl file(64 bit version) for parallel but I couldn't, there was a problem with Opensees website and still it doesn't work to download "tcl file(64 bit version)" and "Getting Started Manual" !!

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5883
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by fmk » Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:29 am

are you runinng the correct version of mpi (32 or 64) that agrees with the OpenSeesMP and tcl you have installed?

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:43 am

Yes, I am running the 64 version of MPICH2 which is compatible with my OpenSeesMP and the installed tcl file. But, shouldn't I install the new tcl file for parallel processing? :roll:
Actually, I am trying to run the OpenSeesMP with the installed tcl file which I was using to run normal OpenSees since the link for tcl file downloading is broken :!:

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:28 am

any hint? any comment? I really need that...
:(

Orum
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:29 am
Location: UME School

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by Orum » Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:53 am

Hi fmk

I want to kindly ask you if I install windows seven through virtual machine and install everything in windows seven, does it work?
Also I want to know that the same tcl that I can use to run normal opensees, can be used to run parallel opensees ?

Many thanks in advance

fmk
Site Admin
Posts: 5883
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley
Contact:

Re: OpenSeesMP on Windows 8.1

Post by fmk » Thu Dec 17, 2015 11:13 am

if OpenSeesMP outputs stuff for the tcl you have installed OpenSees and tcl are in synch. OpenSees may not be in synch with mpi or mi is not finding the .exe. try running in verbose mode:

mpiexec -verbose -n 2 OpenSeesMP test.tcl

you may pipe results to output file: mpiexec -verbose -n 2 OpenSeesMP test.tcl > tmp

the output will hopefully tell you what is amiss. e.g. if i enter a command for which it cannot find the .exe i get similar symtoms to what you decrribe, but the verbose output contains info buried in the file:

......\smpd_handle_command
........handling command:
........ src = 1
........ dest = 0
........ cmd = result
........ tag = 2
........ ctx = left
........ len = 190
........ str = cmd=result src=1 dest=0 tag=2 cmd_tag=2 cmd_orig=launch result=FAIL error="CreateProcess(OpenSeesBlah me.tcl) on 'FRANK4619' failed, error 3 - The system cannot find the path specified.

"
........\smpd_command_destination
.........0 -> 0 : returning NULL context
......../smpd_command_destination
........\smpd_handle_result
.........launch failed: CreateProcess(OpenSeesBlah me.tcl) on 'FRANK4619' failed, error 3 - The system cannot find the path specified.

Post Reply