Page 1 of 1

Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:07 pm
by bayram_aygun
Here is what I've done:

1) I installed "MPICH2" in the default location which is "C:\Program Files\MPICH2".

2) On the tasklist in my DOS Shell I see "smpd.exe", "smss.exe". Does that mean
the spmd service is running? If I write "smpd -start" in dos shell I get the following message: "An instance of the service is already running. (error 1056)". I guess that's a good sign, right?

3) I registered using my username and my password which is also the passphrase. That's OK right?

4) Setting Up Path Variable is done. I did it for all Users (System Variables). When I write "echo %PATH%" I get the following message:

U:\>echo %PATH%
C:\ProgramFiles\Tcl\bin;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem;
c:\program files\ati technologies\ati control panel;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R200
7a\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2007a\bin\win32;C:\Program Files\SSH Communicati
ons Security\SSH Secure Shell;C:\Modeltech_6.1\win32


5) Finally, when I want to run a code via OpenSeesSP I get the following error:

U:\>mpiexec -np 2 OpenSeesSP Bayram_MSCS_WithActualandPseudoPiles_3D_fromScratch
.tcl
Aborting: unable to connect to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu, smpd version mismatch.

Do you have any idea what I might have done wrong?

Thanks,

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 4:16 am
by neallee
Check your path enviroment setting, please.

Make sure the "X:\MPICH2\bin" is in front of the Matlab Path.

Since the Matlab also have an "mpiexec" command in their Path, which caused the "smpd version mismatch"...


Best regards,

Ning

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:43 pm
by bayram_aygun
Hi,

I saw your reply on OpenSees forum. I thank you for that. I followed your advice
and did the following:

1) I put MPICH2 in C: folder ==> C:\MPICH2

2) MATLAB also has mpiexec.exe . I deleted Matlab's mpiexec.exe and pasted the
one I'm using for OpenSees. So I get rid of the smpd mismatch error :)

3) The next error I get is this :

C:\>mpiexec -np 2 OpenSeesSP Bridge.tcl

"Credentials for ba2 rejected connecting to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu
Aborting: Unable to connect to bayrampc.ad.rice.edu"

I checked from Control Panel-->User Accounts that I belong to Administrators
Group, so I'm puzzled. Do you have any idea what might be the problem?

Thanks for your time. I realize it's valuable.

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Thu May 19, 2011 11:10 pm
by SaraMaher
Hi ,

I face the same problem before and was solved by this :

http://www.cnblogs.com/zealsoft/archive ... 81944.html

if you can't find the specified window and know have c IDE you can check your name with this piece of code


#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <windows.h>
using namespace std;
int main(){
char sz[256];
GetEnvironmentVariable ("USERNAME", sz, 256);
cout<<sz<<endl;
system("pause");
return 0;
}

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:07 am
by nicolecivil
Thanks. Had solved the problem :)

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:36 pm
by johnwise
Does it matter where I install MPICH?

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:45 pm
by bredhedden1
yes that does matter because its cover your space.

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:58 am
by smith8890
If I write "smpd -start" in dos shell I get the following message: "An instance of the service is already running. (error 1056)". I guess that's a good sign, right?I am impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good resources here.
I am sure I will visit this place again soon.
Solar micro generation is one of the largest, and most exciting developments happening in the UK today. Solar is attracting the interest of news channels, hedge fund managers and home owners in equal measures.


[url=http://tvsmartreview.com/Bose Videowave Review/]Bose Videowave Review[/url]
[url=http://tvsmartreview.com/Videowave/]Videowave[/url]

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:20 am
by irenebl
Thanks for the advice, i was having the same issues trying to run MPICH

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:35 am
by seowithsam
Thanks for this. I really like what you've posted here and wish you the best of luck with this

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:33 am
by sammon
I have MPICH 1.2.5 set up on serveral Windows 2000 machines, and can
successfully run jobs accross nodes, though it only seems to work
correctly if that user belongs to the Administrators group. As a
"normal" user, jobs fail with the error below.

The directory that the mes0001 file is trying to write to is open to
'Everyone' and shared that way to all of the other nodes.

I have also tried using mpiregister to add the normal user's password
to all of the nodes. It didn't make any difference, same error. Has
anyone seen this before?

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:43 pm
by ocalaautoinsurance
Trying to run mpich was literally driving me mad. Thanks for the info posted here. tremendous help. Cheers.

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:02 am
by zaza
SaraMaher wrote:
> Hi ,
>
> I face the same problem before and was solved by this :
>
> http://www.cnblogs.com/zealsoft/archive ... 81944.html
>
> if you can't find the specified window and know have c IDE you can check your name
> with this piece of code
>
>
> #include <iostream>
> #include <stdio.h>
> #include <windows.h>
> using namespace std;
> int main(){
> char sz[256];
> GetEnvironmentVariable ("USERNAME", sz, 256);
> cout<<sz<<endl;
> system("pause");
> return 0;
> }

Is there an English version of the website?

I am having some trouble running MPICH in Windows and that website is in Chinese.

Re: Having Trouble Running MPICH in Windows

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:02 pm
by ormitamedia
Solve...... :D