2D Model Display

Forum for OpenSees users to post questions, comments, etc. on the use of the OpenSees interpreter, OpenSees.exe

Moderators: silvia, Moderators

2D Model Display

Postby nbazaraa » Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:28 pm

Dear Frank,
Would you please give me some hints on how to display nodal points or model as a whole in 2D/plane?
I have a bit complicated shape and I want check the layout of the nodes?

Thank you for your continuous help...
Regards
nbazaraa
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:53 pm
Location: heriot watt university

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby fmk » Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:38 am

try downloading one of these:

Win32: http://opensees.berkeley.edu/OpenSees/c ... -alpha.zip
Win64: http://opensees.berkeley.edu/OpenSees/c ... -alpha.zip

start the exe. in left hand window (the interpreter) cd to dierctory contaiining script and then source script. in "View" pull-down menu select to view the Renderer. you can toggle on and off the node and ele tags by clicking on the little square windows at top left of renderer window that pops up.
fmk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5690
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby nbazaraa » Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:02 pm

Thank you so much. It works now and I can see the model.
nbazaraa
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:53 pm
Location: heriot watt university

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby gopaladhikari » Tue Jun 14, 2016 11:16 am

HI Frank

Do you have the same for Mac OS X?
Gopal Adhikari, PhD
Senior Bridge Engineer
Opus International Consultants Limited
Wellington, New Zealand
gopaladhikari
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:17 am
Location: Opus International Consultants Limited

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby sb1966 » Tue Jun 14, 2016 11:26 am

Dear fmk,
Is it available for Linux as well? If not yet, when should we expect it?
----------------------------------
With Regards,
sb1966
sb1966
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:08 am
Location: NERIST, INDIA

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby fmk » Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:26 pm

i have it for mac, but it currently rquires you install 5GB or so of software .. i need to rebuild that software to build a static executable that brings the size down to 20MB.

as for LINUX, no .. i do not release Linux binaries as my linux developers prefer to build themselves .. i will make the code available through GitHub hopefully by Aug 1 and you will be able to build it yourself.
fmk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5690
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby sb1966 » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:26 pm

Dear fmk
Thanks a lot for your reply. Congratulations for this new development.
----------------------------------
With Regards,
sb1966
sb1966
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:08 am
Location: NERIST, INDIA

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby fabriziocornali » Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:54 am

Hi fmk,
I'm new with OpenSees software, I'd like to ask you about a problem with "recorder display" command. The reference file that I tried to run is "EigenAnal_twoStoreyShearFrame.tcl" available in the "Basic Examples Manual" section on the OpenSees website.
I tried to run the analysis on both Windows (8.1) and Mac OS X (El Capitan) and I saw that in Win the two windows of the modes of shape (recorder display command) appear, instead when I run the analysis on OS X these don't appear.
Do I need to write something different in the code or there is something else to do? Do you already know this problem?

Thank you
Fabrizio
fabriziocornali
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:10 am
Location: University of Bergamo, Dalmine (BG), IT; Tufts University, Medford, MA, US

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby fmk » Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:51 am

no the mac is the issue .. i will release new software soon to display the models that will run on the mac .. i have had problems since 10.8 on the mac when Apple removed Carbon and only provided the Cocoa interface for the graphics.
fmk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5690
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: UC Berkeley

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby fabriziocornali » Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:55 am

Thanks you so much for the answer, we're looking forward to see this new feature for mac!
Best
Fabrizio
fabriziocornali
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:10 am
Location: University of Bergamo, Dalmine (BG), IT; Tufts University, Medford, MA, US

Re: 2D Model Display

Postby mickele » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:28 am

Do you have news about the release of OpenseesIde source code
mickele
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:49 am
Location: Italy


Return to OpenSees.exe Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests